Beautiful

Every day is so wonderful
Then suddenly it’s hard to breathe.
Now and then I get insecure
From all the pain, I’m so ashamed.

There is a british celebrity called Katie Hopkins who has recently made headlines around the world for her comments regarding obesity and as she refers to them fat people.She doesn’t hire fat people because they are lazy and she actually made a documentary where she gained several stones and then lost it again to prove how easy it is to do. She’s getting responses that’s for sure both positive and negative but I can’t help but think that this kind of behaviour is fuelling the negative body image debate.

I may be a biased spokesperson on this subject. I am obese, overweight, squishy, a big girl. I am not however FAT. Fat is something you have not who you are, it is not my definitive feature no matter what others think. I will not sit here and write and make excuses for my obesity. There are contributing factors that make it more likely that I will be susceptible to obesity but it was me who chose to eat. It was me who did not exercise the amount of calories I partook.

no critics

Genetically I am pre disposed to weight gain. I come from 2 parents who both battled with their weight, I have poly cystic ovarian syndrome (one of the symptoms can be weight gain and difficulty losing weight) but still I own the realisation that I contributed significantly to my medical diagnosis of obesity.

It occurred to me only recently that we treat people with eating disorders such as anorexia or bulimia with compassion and understanding we don’t seem to hesitate to recognise that these are medical conditions however we are quick to judge and comment on people with obesity. Food addiction and obsession are part of all of these illnesses and since people suffering from obesity or being overweight now make up the majority of our society I wonder when we are going to stop being hateful, hurtful and damn judgemental and just focus on what matters….health and happiness.

likers gonna like

I believe in free speech, I believe that Katie Hopkins has the right to her opinion absolutely just as much as Meghan Trainor has the right to tell us it’s all about that base, that base. All I’m saying is be free to have your own beliefs about body image and opinions without putting down others for how they look or your perception of their lifestyle. Katie I applaud you for recognising the best way to keep healthy for you but hating on “fat” people isn’t going to make them or you any thinner so maybe give it a rest.

I think the “embrace the curves” movement is amazing, women should embrace and love their bodies and themselves absolutely but I don’t agree with “skinny” hating. Real women have curves- sure some do, some are thin, some are athletic, some are tall or short or like me supremely squishy but all are beautiful and all are REAL.

So for 2015 I choose to celebrate REAL women…… all of them.

I am beautiful no matter what they say.
Words can’t bring me down.
I am beautiful in every single way.
Yes, words can’t bring me down

Linking up with the beautiful and REAL Jess because I Blog on Tuesdays

12 thoughts on “Beautiful

  1. Good on you! With two little girls I am very conscious of ensuring they don’t get brainwashed into thinking all girls/women in magazines are real and un photoshopped. I want them to know beauty comes in all shapes and sizes.

  2. Beautiful post! I’m so tired of women putting down and fat shaming other women. We come in all shapes and sizes. Time to accept it, embrace it and stop with the BS. So many women hate their bodies. It shouldn’t be this way. xo

  3. I loved this so much Rachel. You encourage me with your self image constantly. I struggled with anorexia as a kid, and I still don’t have a healthy relationship with food. Not that anyone would think that by looking at me, as I’m neither ‘too thin’ or ‘too fat,’ but I do let food control me more than I should. And that’s an image issue, not a food one.
    I love that you are just so confident in who you are, and that you encourage that confidence in others. Thank you.xxx

  4. Love, love this so much. There seems to be a lot of diet bashing around at the moment and I for one am sick to death of it. I fail to understand how someones food choices are anyones business. I also don’t understand why people feel the need to comment on other peoples bodies.

Leave a Reply

