I Will Take Care of You- A Conversation with Promises

I will take care of you, the very best that I can
With all of the love, here in my heart and all of the strength in my hands
Your every joy I’ll share, for every tear, I’ll be there
My whole life through, I will take care of you

She was 17 years old when her father died yet the freckle faced girl made him the promise that she would take care of her mother and her golden haired little sister.

Never was there a promise that anyone made that was kept so completely.

Never was anyone so selfless, at times annoyingly selfless.

There for every achievement.

Every spare dollar used to take care of them. The hot water tank went…she replaced it. The washing machine died she bought a new one.

Without complaint. Complete sacrifice.

A surrendered social life.

A parent more than a sister.

A disciplinarian who the golden haired girl feared more than her mother.

A promise kept beyond anyone’s expectation except her own.

Idolised by the golden haired girl more than she will ever know.

I will take care of you

I will take care of you

Linking up with the gorgeous Josefa for Conversations over Coffee- Conversations with Promises.

6 thoughts on “I Will Take Care of You- A Conversation with Promises

  1. Some promises are not just important to keep – they define you were are and set the path to the life we will live. Such a beautiful promise showcased here and one that speaks volumes about how important a promise can be – especially to those we love. Thank you so much for being an awesome member of the #convocoffee community this year Josefa xx

Leave a Reply

