Welcome Back Kotter

Welcome back,
To that same old place that you laughed about
It’s been 2 months since I last blogged it feels like a lifetime.
To embrace the melodrama of it all it feels like I am slowly coming back from the dead. There was a point one night at 3 in the morning when I literally thought I was going to bleed to death and my body so exhausted and anaemic and drained felt relief for a split second….I’m ashamed of that but after 3 months of hemoraging I’m suprised I had the strength to keep going.
as one friend said "you look like a corpse"

me before sickness and then during as one friend said “you look like a corpse”

I had the surgery and it didn’t really change anything at first. I continued to bleed and my hemoglobins dropped so low that the sheer act of showering required supervision incase I passed out……hubby didn’t complain about this however.
Hubby infact didn’t complain about any of it. The constant trips to the hospital, the gross aspects of my situation and the almost “carer” that he became when I got so weak I couldn’t even dress myself. I don’t how I got lucky enough to have him.
my total hero he did it all without complaining

my total hero he did it all without complaining

It took time and patience and then some more time and then about a week ago I managed to sleep through the night and I woke up knowing it was all going to be ok.
I don’t know how to describe it without sounding schmultzy but it was like the first day of Spring and I’m starting to blossom again….it’s going to take time but I am starting to be me again. A random joke, a comment, the ability to walk to the car without getting breathless and I even managed a shower unsupervised last week.
yep I even managed to make myself up not kidding lol

yep I even managed to make myself up not kidding lol

So I’m back …. kinda, it’s a day by day process. The hemoglobins are still low and I still get really tired but I feel alive and I’ve never been more grateful for that.
Linking up with Jess because she’s awesome and because I’m starting to blog on Tuesdays again.
31 thoughts on “Welcome Back Kotter

  1. Welcome back Rachel I’ve missed your blogs and what a star Chris is looking after the most precious thing in his life
    I sincerely hope that you are now on the mend and get back to normal. Xx

  2. Oh my gosh! I don’t know how you had the strength to keep going either. I truly hope the surgery has made a difference now and you can get back to your old self – regain your energy and your sparkly personality x

  3. I had a hysterectomy 2 years ago and it changed my life. At last I know what it’s like not to be tired and run down all the time!!!! Glad to hear you’re on the mend, and discovering the joy of life on the other side. Visiting today from #teamIBOT xxx

Leave a Reply

