The Luckiest

I don’t get many things right the first time
In fact, I am told that a lot
Now I know all the wrong turns, the stumbles and falls
Brought me here

And where was I before the day
That I first saw your lovely face?
Now I see it everyday
And I know

I grew up in an area of Sydney where teenage pregnancy is not out of the norm. At 25 people seem to treat you like you have been left on the shelf.

By 26 most of theΒ  girls I had gone to school with were in “serious” relationships planning their weddings and I had not long returned from Europe and was desperately planning the next voyage. I liked my freedom, it was that time in my life when I could buy clothes or shoes guilt free.

Then I remet the guy I sat next to in Ancient History. The quiet, pale, sweet guy.

Thunderbolt.

Love true love came out of nowhere and knocked me on my arse. I was a goner from the very first smile.

3 months later we were living together and sitting with my mum over coffee he asked her if she would be ok with him asking me to marry him. She gave her permission and for the first time in my life marriage seemed like a wondrous thing instead of a gilded cage.

I didn’t know when he would propose all I knew was that he promised it wouldn’t be on Valentines Day or an anniversary how disgustingly cliched he would say.

What a Big Fat Liar.

On our first anniversary we went out to dinner at a fancy restaurant and knowing that the proposal wasn’t coming I was completely relaxed, dressed up and enjoying the food and the company.

After dinner we went to Botany Bay where my dad had always taken me when I was little.

By the time we get there it is POURING. He seemed so annoyed. “Whats the matter?” “I was hoping we could go for a walk on the boardwalk but it’s raining” with his last comment I kicked off my heels and ran out into the rain. He met me with the large umbrella that was in the boot.

We walk up to the lookout and lean over the railing looking at the dark water the rain drumming on the umbrella.

Chris plays a song on his phone “Little Ray of Sunshine” my dad used to say it was about me. We dance in the rain. Just him and me swaying in time with the music with the umbrella now forgotten.

I look out at the water thinking wow how is this my life ,this is perfect and when I looked back there he was down on one knee holding out his mothers engagement ring asking me to spend forever with him.

Needless to say I like Anniversaries.

after saying yes

after saying yes

his mothers ring

his mothers ring

 

And in a white sea of eyes
I see one pair that I recognize
And I know

That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

Linking up with the awesome Kylez who is hosting the lounge this week

16 thoughts on “The Luckiest

  1. I got a tear in my eye reading that. And that song!
    Anniversaries are special – celebrating love, stregthens love.
    We disappeared up the road to our local Thai for our anniversary this week. Not a special venue, but it was nice to hang out for an hour and be together. X

  2. That is such a beautiful story! And the ring is absolutely gorgeous. We may possibly have grown up in the same area of Sydney..maybe. But I think we turned out all right, so that’s all that matters, right?. My proposal was very boring but we’re still married almost 19 years later, so we must doing something right!

  3. Oh.My.Gosh! Rach I think that is the best proposal story I have heard in a very long time! It is just perfect! I was exactly the same about marriage until I met Dave. Never thought is was something I would want to do, didn’t know why people did it. Then BOOM! And the rest, as they say, is history.

    Thanks for linking up xxx

Leave a Reply

