Take Me Away

Dont wanna grow up
i wanna get out
hey take me away
i wanna shout out
take me away
away away away away

I remember in my rare moments of teenage dramatics thinking arrgghh this is too much I wish I could just run away. Yep run away from all the pressures of getting good grades in high school and being told what I was and wasn’t allowed to do by my mum……Sometimes I wish I could go back to 16 year old Rach and smack her in the head and give her a big Heads Up on how great her life was.

Don’t get me wrong this isn’t a pity party post my life is still pretty great and for the most part I’m happy but lately there has been a part of me that relates to 16 year old Rach….I want to run away not from my husband or my home so much but I feel like my path is hidden from me occupational wise.

I want to study and learn and grow and try new things. I want to truly believe that 31 isn’t as old as it currently feels. I want to be successful. I want to work out what it will take for me to feel successful…..but most of all.

I WANT TO GET AWAY!!!

My leave has been approved and hubby and I are away ……in November and December. 5 weeks away to spend Christmas with my best girlfriend and her family in North Wales and before that for Chris and I to finally have a quick honeymoon (albeit 3 years later) in London and a quick European tour (we’re working out the details). The tickets are booked we fly out on November 25 and I cannot wait. I may even treat you guys to some Vlogs while I’m away.

November is so far away and everyday I remind myself that this hard work is getting us one step closer to our trip, our hard earned time off. Everyday gets me closer to my best girl. Everyday gets me closer to London.

Oh London how I have missed you.

November seems so far, London seems so far.

I want to run away…… maybe I should change my perspective it’s not really that I want to run away so much as I want to run towards something…..run towards November, towards London, towards the me who is happy being wherever it is that I am.

Do you ever feel like running away?

take me away

Linking up with the gorgeous Jess cause I blog on Tuesdays

24 thoughts on “Take Me Away

  1. November is not that far away – it always flies by soon than you think…Do tell of the European tour plans….I love travel talk….Paris is a must, OBVS but where else? Italy? Spain? Greece? I adored Denmark but it’s a costly venture (flights and just general living)

    • I would love to pick your brain we have about 10 days and we were trying to work out whether to do things ourselves or go on an organised tour….for the convenience I think a little but I would love any and all advice xxx

  2. Yes I want to run away too. In fact my post is a little similar today, the frustration of living in the present while waiting for that exciting future. Sending lots of fairy wishes and butterfly kisses your way lovely.

  3. I get itchy feet a lot! I love holidays! The planning, the trip and the reflections! Have a great time in November. It will we here before you know it 🙂

  4. I think about running away more now as an adult than I did as a teenager (and I actually did run away a lot as a teenager!). I think the responsibility of it all gets us down. It just feels like we are going from one mundane task to another, and for what? Well for you it’s an awesome overseas trip!! November will be here before you know it and then hopefully time will slow down for you so you can enjoy your time away.

  5. I’m so excited for you Rach and honestly November will be here and you will be on your holiday relieved to finally have gotten to your destination. Enjoy the time in between as you plan and make all the necessary arrangements. 🙂

  6. Sounds like a wonderful trip and time! How exciting! It will be here before you know it! We booked tickets 6 months ago to go to NZ for 3 nights to visit friends and it will be here in just a couple of weeks! Its nice to have something to look forward to. As for running away, yes, every day I dream about it!

Leave a Reply

