Beautiful in My Way

My mama told me when I was young
We are all born superstars
She rolled my hair and put my lipstick on
In the glass of her boudoir

There’s nothin’ wrong with lovin’ who you are
She said, ’cause He made you perfect, babe

My mother was never one for makeup. My whole childhood I remember her having 1 lipstick. It was in a gold tube and was an orangey pinky red colour. She wore it on special occasions, the same lipstick always.

Growing up in the 80’s and early 90’s I remember sitting on the bunk beds in my sisters room watching her apply her blue eyeliner and mascara but me I was always fascinated by lipstick.

Years of dancing and being made to wear bright red lipstick you would think that I would hate it but lipstick was always magical to me. It had the ability to transform me into who it was I wanted to be. Red for when I wanted old school glamour or to feel like a movie star. Dark browns and purples in theย  90’s when I was trying to embrace the Lauryn Hill gangsta cool that I so obviously was (yep that’s denial speaking) and the super glossy glittery look that I thought was amazing when I was 18.

A beautiful high school friend of mine has recently moved back to Sydney from Perth and knowing that I am a lipstick freak and she being an Arbonne consultant decided to spoil me with lipstick and a facial while we caught up over Pizza last week.

Have you heard of Arbonne? I’m not being condescending here but genuinely asking before I knew Laura was working for them I had no idea who they were. Shocking I know considering they have been around for over 30 years.

So what did I learn about Arbonne over facials? I learnt that Arbonne products are botanically based meaning that they are plant based. Yes you heard it plant based…making them natural, smell amazing and feel incredible on your skin. We are always saying that we need to eat healthy and clean so we concentrate on what we put in our bodies but for some reason not what we put ON it.

My skin after my facial. It look cleaner felt smoother and smelt so fresh

My skin after my facial. It looked cleaner felt smoother and smelt so fresh

What else did I learn? I’m 31 it’s time I got a proper skin care ritual and I might as well pick one that not only makes my skin feel great but honestly I smelt delicious. I’ve booked a facial party for May with Laura so my nearest and dearest ladies can experience the same amazing feeling.

So it was a wonderful catch up night and when she left Laura gifted me 2 lipsticks to try both part of the Arbonne Rouge A Levres range one being Coral Reef and the other Jam Confiture.

So what did I the lipstick connoisseur think? Both lipsticks glide on incredibly easy and smooth to be honest the texture feels more like lip balm it feels like moisturiser for your lips. The colour doesn’t go patchy but it does fade after a few hours so reapplying is a must. It also kisses off a little so your fellas may not love it as much as you do.

The Coral Reef is a great everyday shade particularly for those who are not overly confident with lipstick. It’s subtle and pretty and can be worn as part of the more natural make up look or you can take the opportunity to play up the smokey eye look.

some pretty Coral Lips

some pretty Coral Lips

Jam Confiture I fell in love with the minute I first applied it. I love me a beautiful red lipstick but they can be a bit harsh and full on for everyday wear and this was like a rosey sweet red. A great shade for those first wanting to try out the red lipstick look.This is a magic lipstick one that made me feel beautiful.

love me some Jam lips

love me some Jam lips

So can I say I loved my first experience with Arbonne, it won’t be my last because if this food addict is going to spoil herself it should be with something that makes me look and feel great.

Linking up with Jess because I Blog On Tuesdays

Please note I was not paid to write this post. I do not work for Arbonne but I am very honestly a fan. If anyone would like to read more about Arbonne please click the link and if you would like to contact Laura her facebook page can be found here. She is a walking advertisement for the products because when you have 3 kids under 5 (including twins) and you look this amazing you are doing something right xx

16 thoughts on “Beautiful in My Way

  1. Sounds like my kind of lipstick. I have twins too – barely eight and still keeping me counting my blessings and way past 3.,

  2. I have a friend who is a consultant for this brand and I didn’t know much about it but your post has made me want to book a consultation or party. Thanks for the info. I’m 29 and have started to get more into a routine with my skin care too.

  3. Starting with an aside, I love your tone and the way you construct a post. I love both the colours on you and with my pale colouring I do know how gard it is to find the perfect red that works in both shade and saturation. It took me forever to find one and when I did, of course I bought two.

    My waxing lady is an Arbonne beautician and offers the facials, and I’d LOVE one but once I’ve been for all my other bits and pieces I just can’t cover that as well. A bit envious though! #teamIBOT

  4. Oh my dog my phone and dodgy cover just ate my lengthy comment. I did say I love your tone and the way you construct a post. My beautician stocks Arbonne and I would absolutely love a facial with this stuff! I really like both the colours on you, as a pale person I know how hard it is to find the right red in tone and saturation #teamIBOT

Leave a Reply

