The Love You Take

And In The End

The Love You Take is Equal to the Love You Make

I am a bit of a quoting geek. A photographic memory and a love of all things music and film related add to that a total history, literature and pop culture buff and you would realise just how difficult it is to find just a few words to live by when it seems that I am emmersed in the words of those smarter or wiser or worst of all funnier than I am.

For those that read this blog often you know that for the most part I steer towards the positive and so when I first saw the movie Elizabethtown (apart from being blown away at just how amazingly Cameron Crowe writes his female characters) I was struck but how many lines coincided with me and how I felt about particular things- after all “I’m difficult to forget but I’m hard to remember”. Perhaps though my favourite line was one about accepting anger and sadness and failure “You have 5 minutes to wallow in the delicious misery. Enjoy it, Embrace it, Discard it and proceed”. It sums it up. We as human beings need sadness and anger they serve a purpose they bring a balance and it’s completely ok to lose yourself in the grief and misery as long as we don’t stay lost. I am thankful for those words when I need reminding to kick my butt back into gear.

at least I amuse myself

at least I amuse myself

I believe in karma what you give is what you get returned ( I also believe I should cringe when I unintentionally quote Savage Garden songs) and so when Paul McCartney says something as powerful as “And in the end  the love you take is equal to the love you make” I feel it deeply. I agree you get out what you put in….. bad things happen absolutely you can’t control that all you can control is who you are when they do. Old Macca (as Paul McCartney shall now be referred to as- it is inherently Australian to give him a nickname) shuts up the spitelful Rach who whispers in my ear every now and then, he reminds me that it’ll come back to bite me on the ass.

teeth

I’m not amazing at sticking up for myself and I’m also that person who says sorry a lot….I worry about hurting peoples feelings and get for lack of a better word timid about it and there is a lady who I greatly admire in history who had no such issues. Timid is not a word that would ever be used to describe Anne Boleyn infact her personal motto was “Let them grumble that is how it’s going to be” I see strength in those words and whilst I admire them and aim to be a bit more like that I am thankful for the fact that I am not an uncompromising person that I see both sides of things.

the great Anne

the great Anne

Some words that perhaps it’s better not to live by:

“I’d like to be under the sea in an octopus’ garden in the shade”….seriously? What would you do about the not being able to breath thing.

“Love will set you free” Though maybe not if you are in San Quentin.

“Take time to smell the roses” Absolutely unless you suffer from hayfever or flower allergies or there are bees around.

“Live life to the MAX” What does that even mean? As in Pepsi Max in which case the saying should be Live Life to the effect of caffeine without calories or does it relate to some guy called Max? Or does it mean Live life to the maximum but whose concept of maximum…the maximum what?

I am so thankful for the internet being back on at my house so that I am able to blog about words to live by, heck so that I am able to blog at all and as for the words we all should hold true… I think the Rolling Stones got it right “You can’t always get what you want”.

Linking up today with the lovelies at The Lounge hosted by Robomum and also being thankful (kinda I tried to do 2 birds 1 stone) with the gorgeous Rhianna for Thankful Thursday .

8 thoughts on “The Love You Take

  1. I have not heard this quote before “You have 5 minutes to wallow in the delicious misery. Enjoy it, Embrace it, Discard it and proceed” but I think it’s amazing. That is definitely something I need to remember – wallow for 5 mins then discard and proceed !!
    Have a wonderful week !
    Me

  2. I love quotes as well but I only vaguely remember them and in conversation, they always come out incorrectly. Meh…

    I like this: “And in the end the love you take is equal to the love you make” . First time I’ve heard those lyrics. Very true.

    Cheers for linking! X

  3. I love this post! Thank you so much for sharing it with us and apologies for taking so long to come and leave a comment. I haven’t seen the movie but I totally agree with the quote about it being ok to lose yourself to grief or anger or whatever but just don’t get lost. So so true. Sending lots of fairy wishes and butterfly kisses your way

Leave a Reply

