Do You Wanna Build a Snowman

Do you wanna build a snowman?
Come on lets go and play
I never see you anymore
Come out the door
It’s like you’ve gone away

I spoke not so long ago about my need to float, to immerse into the water and just be. To feel the water envelope me and allow me weightlessly to just relax.

These past weeks I have floated numerous times, I have glided under the water and let it wash over me and more recently I played Mermaids with my niece who is 4.

She was the Queen Mermaid and I was the Princess Mermaid. My tail was red and gold with glittery sparkles incase you were wondering and our game mostly consisted of me swirling and twirling with her in the pool. It was I realised later the first time I remember in recent months being outside in the middle of the day.

Earlier that day the Disney freak that I am had watched Frozen and had gotten the song “do you wanna build a snowman” stuck in my head. It only just occurred to me why…I’m the sister who locked herself away, out of fear, living a lonely private little life. I am (or was) the Snow Queen living in the palace of ice of my own creation.

Human beings like flowers need time in the sun and I have been denying myself the fun of that through anxiety, fear, pale skin…..I got a little burnt even after applying sunscreen but I find myself looking at my slightly burnt shoulders with pride…I’m no longer hiding, I’m allowing myself to grow.

I need to get out more, I need fresh air and sunshine (of course with the right slip slop slap methods in place). It’s a choice I have to be conscious of, I need to be more social, I need to embrace me because at the end of the day who wouldn’t rather be a Princess Mermaid than a Snow Queen.

We used to be best buddies
And now we’re not
I wish you would tell me why
Do you wanna build a snowman?
It doesn’t have to be a snowman

Princess Mermaid

Linking up with the gorgeous Jess at Essentially Jess because I Blog On Tuesdays.

26 thoughts on “Do You Wanna Build a Snowman

  1. It is so therapuetic to be out in the sunshine, being washed over by water. It is hard to be sad when playing mermaids. Glad you are enjoying time with your niece.

  2. So beautiful Rach, so beautiful. That niece of yours sure is a special little thing. I love playing mermaids, the water is a magical place. Leaving some fairy wishes and butterfly kisses for more sunshine filled days xx

  3. What a truly beautiful post, I loved Frozen and that song has stuck in my head too. We all are the snow Queen sometimes, it is part of protecting the Mermaid Princess deep inside. Don’t be hard on yourself for it, just enjoy the sun when you can xx Josefa #teamIBOT

  4. Did you cry several times in the movie like me? My fav song was Let it Go and I added it to my spotify as soon as I got home from the movies. I hope that you come out of your ice palace and see the beautiful person that we all see xx

  5. Dude my kids have been singing that song all day, and I had just got it out of my head!
    I think we’ve all had a bit of Elsa in us; that whole hiding who we are from the world. But you’re better than that Rachel. So glad you’re coming out to build a snow man πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

