A Secret

I have this secret side.

I call her Christmas Rach.

Christmas Rach stresses about money big time- Christmas Rach loves to spoil people with gifts and hates to admit her mother is right…she has champagne taste on a beer budget.

Christmas Rach loves wrapping presents and obsesses about them being right.

But the biggest part of this secret side is the secret Christmas movie addiction.

I devour them, I seriously tape them all and watch for hours while wrapping.

But the biggest secret part of it is that I cannot watch a Christmas movie without bawling my eyes out.

It’s a Wonderful Life- tears.

Yes Virginia there is a Santa Clause- Sobs.

The Polar Express- heavy duty sobs like a little girl with a skinned knee.

They’re just so beautiful and sweet.

No I don’t watch them while eating Walkers Shortbread……by the box.

Do you have any Christmas Indulgences?

<Linking up with the lovely Jess from Essentially Jess for IBOT>

40 thoughts on “A Secret

  1. My Christmas indulgence is I start looking forward to movies on Boxing Day and Festival of Sydney and my favourite of favourites, The Dakar starts on Jan 5. I power through the xmas obligations, knowing in the back of my mind I have my wonderfully Dec 26 soon enough to kick off the festivities of the January season…YAY!

  2. My Christmas indulgence is Christmas music! When I bring out the old Buble or Mariah Christmas CDs my husband tries to kidnap them from me 🙂 What a party pooper!

  3. You’re gorgeous. Whilst I’ve never gotten in on the Xmas movie thing, I’m right with you about being generous and extravagant with shopping and presents at this time of year. It makes me feel good. My credit card balance, not so good. But I’ve got a full 12 months to pay it off again right?? 😉

    Keep enjoying the magic. That’s what it’s about x

  4. The Polar Express is on repeat in our house at this time of year! My MIL may even been sending our very own Polar Express for under the Christmas tree! Nick is going to LOVE it! I’m feeling a bit strange this Christmas, just not as excited or into it as I usually am. x Aroha

  5. I like the sound of this generous-spirited Xmas Rach. I especially enjoy buying and wrapping gifts for my favourite people…weird but I actually prefer it to receiving them!

    Walkers Shortbread, has LITERALLY got my name on it 🙂 (although a friend’s is even better). Watched ‘Elf’ with Will Ferrell the other night with my teen daughter – haven’t enjoyed a film so much for ages!!

  6. oh my gosh I HATE that saying (champagne taste on a beer budget) my mother says the same thing and it ,makes me want to slap her. I’m not a huge fan of the whole christmas hoopla (carols, movies, etc) but I adore gift giving, shopping for the exact right present and then wrapping them beautifully. Spending is definitely my Christmas indulgence.

  7. I have never seen Polar Express! I need to get it out! I love a good Christmas movie. You sound very generous rach and that’s the best way to be at Christmas. I hope you have a blessed Christmas too. 🙂

  8. My Christmas indulgence is more about the week after Christmas (which we always take off work) … lounging around the house in air conditioning working on 1000 piece jigsaw puzzles! It’s not something I tend to do the rest of the year, so it really is R&R and a break from the every day 😉

    Visiting today from #teamIBOT xxx

  9. I love Christmas movies, but then I’m a sop all year round. Wuth both kids I started singing carols instead of our usual song routine at bedtime _ at one stage it stretched to 5 songs, so a bit ridiculous, but I secretly love carols even after Christmas is over.

  10. mine is Christmas books, love reading “The night before Christmas”.. so far this Christmas season I may have read it about 100 times, reminds me of being a kid and my Nanna ( Rach remember the Christmas book we had that Nan gave us )… Love love love love Christmas…

  11. You know I’m with you on this Christmas Rach…. I’m overwhelmed this year and it upsets me but Christmas movies, a bottle of wine wrapping paper scissors and never ending struggle with the sticky tape!!!

  12. Silly of me to not have thought of watching Christmas movies whilst wrapping presents. Where have I been? Love it…and yes I cried in Polar Express. Animated movies do it to me every time…maybe it’s the music. Merry Xmas to you!

  13. Rach I’m a total sap when it comes to Xmas movies, Love Actually of course gets me every time, not quite as bad since I met my hubby, but when I was single, oh shit girl I could have cried an ocean. Embrace Christmas Rach, she sounds just lovely 🙂 Merry Christmas thing sweet, xxx

Leave a Reply

