I Must Confess

Todays topic for I must confess is Blog Post Pride……I have to admit I struggled with this for 2 seperate reasons…..

  1. To select a post would mean that I actually think I wrote something great.
  2. I then couldn’t pick one from a few that I really loved writing.

So I picked one I had gotten a great response from- from people who read it but more importantly from myself…it was the moment I realised just How much my head was in the game, how committed I was to moving forward. I’ll just copy and paste it below:

When I Loved Myself Enough

There is a beautiful book written by Kim McMillan called when I Loved Myself Enough I first discovered it about 10 years ago when I bought it for my sister who has never been a particularly confident person what I never expected was 2 things.

  1. That I would be so touched by the book that the message would stick with me.
  2. That I would ever be out of the “fat” shame that was my self esteem enough to write a list of my own.

I was speaking to a close friend by email the other day and she made a comment about how my way of thinking seemed to change that I was blossoming like a butterfly and instead of thinking it was an unwarranted compliment like I always did I found myself thinking “you know what I do feel different”.

So I decided to take the books lead and write my own list.

When I Loved Myself Enough I started focusing on being HEALTHY not skinny.

When I Loved Myself Enough I realised I didn’t have to apologise for being who I am.

When I Loved Myself Enough I learnt that there is a difference between responding to an accusation and being defensive and that very few people will listen if you are defensive.

When I Loved Myself Enough I stopped feeling guilty everytime I said no to something.

When I Loved Myself Enough I realised it’s ok not to like everyone

When I Loved Myself Enough I realised that there is a difference between complaining and being in legitimate pain.

When I Loved Myself Enough I found that there is ALWAYS time for exercise and the way it makes me feel.

When I Loved Myself Enough I discovered that some days you just want to stay in bed particularly when it’s cold and that’s ok.

When I Loved Myself Enough I learnt that how I feel on the inside reflects how I look on the outside.

When I Loved Myself Enough I found that the opinion of me that matters most is mine.

 

Linking up today with the lovely Kirsty at My Home Truths for I Must Confess

12 thoughts on “I Must Confess

  1. I like that last line – as long as it’s not the negative distorted view we sometimes have. But I had to think about my blog and decided do I try to make it have more commercial appeal or do I just do what I want with it, how I like it, and which would make me happier. You can tell which one I went with…;) but it gives me freedom. I’ll just get a different job for the bucks.

  2. Sounds like a very wise book. My favourite quote at the moment is: What other people say to me is a reflection of them not me. It helps when I feel down about what someone says or does. I am too sensitive so often people don’t realise they have said something to offend me, but I spend too much time thinking about it!! Love your quotes x

  3. I love this and I love that these messages have stuck with you. There is truth in every line of this. I think I need to put together a list of my own to remind me that I am enough and that all that I do is enough (I always beat myself up about not being enough to everybody…) thanks for linking this up, this is definitely a post to be proud of Rae!

  4. I love your list of messages. One thing that I am trying to remember as I go through life…’It’s none of my business what others think of me.’ It’s a hard one though, especially with being on social media and blogging.

Leave a Reply

