Chantilly Lace and a Pretty Face- Listmania #29

Barry’s Customer: Hi, do you have the song “I Just Called To Say I Love You?” It’s for my daughter’s birthday.

Barry: Yea we have it.

Barry’s Customer: Great, Great, can I have it?

Barry: No, no, you can’t.

Barry’s Customer: Why not?

Barry: Well, it’s sentimental tacky crap. Do we look like the kind of store that sells I Just Called to Say I Love You? Go to the mall.

I grew up the youngest of 12, the 8th girl at the beginning of the 80’s there were certain women who ruled the tapedecks in our house. Madonna, Whitney and Cyndi. Tiffany- I think we’re alone now was a popular choice but honestly nothing compared to my sister Beckys Madonna Tape- True Blue I’m suprised we didn’t wear it out….we all had our favourites I was only 4 but mine was the title track because it was awesome and later because Dannii Minogue did her version of it on Young Talent Time.

My mum used to work weekends at a nursing home that took 45 minutes to get too and 45 minutes to drive home from and Dad would let whoever sat in front pick their favourite tape from his collection. I loved his rock n roll tape and whenever I hear songs like Chantilly Lace I imagine being 6 years old sitting next to my dad while he drove (save the judgement people it wasn’t illegal in those days).

My mum would always listen to my Aunty Jans music at christmas when she was cleaning.It seems so silly to say it but those tapes and cd’s meant christmas in our house..My mums bestie was a country singer Jan Kelly.

I have said before that music has this incredible way of making up remember places or people Van Morrison Brown Eyed Girl always makes me think of my best GF who lives in North Wales.

Avril Lavignes Complicated always makes me think of the summer of my 2nd year of uni.

Perhaps my favourite of all the songs that reminds me of growing up and my musical life is the song by Jimmy Soul- If You Wanna Be Happy….my sister Kellie and I will drop everything to sing this together i think it started because it is in several movies we love, it’s boppy and well just hilarious. It can make me happy on my saddest day and I know that no matter how near or far apart we are it will make us both stop suddenly and sing. It’s a bond between the 2 of us…. I love that.

Linking up with the gorgeous Deb at Home Life Simplified for Listmania

 

4 thoughts on “Chantilly Lace and a Pretty Face- Listmania #29

  1. Oh Rachel!! Thank you so much for mentioning “If you wanna be happy”….pure awesomeness in a song!!! Love that this is you and your sister’s song! Just reminded me of the whole list of songs that I have with my cousin (who I consider a sister as she is the only other girl in my extended family!)..definitely tunes from Madonna, Tiffany and Cyndi are on that list too!! Oh I love songs & memories! Thanks for sharing yours 🙂

  2. Yep I agree with Beth – I’m singing away to If you wanna be happy now! Such a fun song! Great post – I love how you have told the stories of the songs!

Leave a Reply

