The Book of Love

The book of love is long and boring

No one can lift the damn thing

It’s full of charts and facts and figures

And instructions for dancing

But I I love it when you read to me

And you You can read me anything

This Sunday marks 4 years since the hubby and I went on our first date some 11 years after we first met. This Sunday also marks 3 years since we got engaged. I know I hear the groans already trust me when I say this will not be one of those overly flowery my husband is awesome posts. He is and I could write that but I think if I have learnt anything from the first 18 months of marriage it’s that sometimes the most romantic things that a man can do are the things that don’t feature in a romantic comedy.

My leg has been horrendous and painful since December last year and I seriously struggled to do anything around the house. Chris who previously could barely make toast stepped up and started cooking every night and it was incredible. I would sit on a chair and step by step him through things. He is quite the chef now and still makes me feel like I am the worlds most amazing wife when I cook or bake.

But my most favourite non romantic comedy moment happened just yesterday. To understand the significance I should give a slight back story. Our first Christmas together I got the worlds worst food poisoning and spent the whole of boxing day in the bathroom being sick and since the bathroom wall was connected to our bedroom Mr Wonderful spent the day playing Playstation and calling through the wall “Are you ok?”.

Yesterday I had a massive blood test done like 14 vials of blood massive- fasting of course. By the time we got home and I got out of the car I was so woozy I was walking like drunk Rach, drunk Rach who couldn’t keep anything down. There I was in that dignified position bent over at the waist and face in the toilet bowl and there he was rubbing my back.

That ladies is true romance and I am so damn lucky. Hope this Tuesday finds you happy and healthy and let me know- What’s your idea of unconventional romance?

The book of love has music in it

In fact that’s where music comes from

Some of it’s just transcendental

Some of it’s just really dumb

But I I love it when you sing to me

And you  You can sing me anything

my romantic fella

my romantic fella

< Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT>

24 thoughts on “The Book of Love

  1. I hope today is a better day 14 vials is huge. I think love is being able be yourself warts and all (or fart, burp, vomit etc) lol deb xx

  2. Hello there, ah yes well that’s real life… I always say that love is a verb not a noun, and we only see it in action. My partner and I have been together 17 years or so, bit more, eldest son is 16 (it was fast and furious) and romance may not be dead but it’s sure in a deep coma. And that’s all right!!

    Nice to meet you via IBOT

  3. Wow – that is heaps of blood they took !
    Changing poo nappies and cleaning up vomit would be deal breakers for me – if he didn’t do it, they would still be there because I would be throwing up all over the place !!!!
    Hope you feel better and have a great day !
    Me

  4. He most certainly does sound like a keeper. You are so right about it being the little things. I love the way my Mr Awesome always checks the doors are locked before he goes to bed, even if I am staying up. It is just a lovely reminded that he is always there to protect and look out for me.

    Leaving some fairy wishes and butterfly kisses from #teamIBOT

  5. There is nothing wrong with showing how passionate you are about your hubby!!!! Yep…I remember last Christmas when we were out on our land camping…I go the bum spew and boy was it awful really awful….Mr A was there always helping me – getting buckets, spare clothes, washers.
    That’s romance when you know they don’t care what you look like or smell like.

Leave a Reply

