Music Makes the People Come Together- Listmania #14

And If I want to find the song “Landslide” by Fleetwood Mac I have to remember that I bought it for someone in the fall of 1983 pile, but didn’t give it to them for personal reasons.

Rob- High Fidelity

Music has an ability more so than anything else to transport us back to a certain moment in time, the right song transforms me into a 5 year old Young Talent Time fan, a teenage girl who was making lifes choices and a woman who had just married her best friend. Music in short is poetry you can dance to.

I was watching an E True Hollywood story on the Spice Girls the other week. I would like to say that I just happened upon it but the truth is I taped it. The Spice Girls are a guilty pleasure and part of the reason why is because Wannabe is attached to 2 incredibly vivid memories.

The first memory attached to Wannabe was at a friends 14th birthday party…to say I was a goody goody was an understatement. I never broke the rules and did everything I was told and so at said party where Wannabe was being played on repeat and everyone at the party snuck off to a local park to smoke a joint. I didn’t go I stayed in the pool by myself and 2 minutes later was joined by 3 other girls who also weren’t interested in trying drugs. Wannabe was a song that I never really liked but always held in affection because it was the symbol of my strength at 14 to say no to something I didn’t want even if it meant social isolation.

The second memory attached to it was when I was 25 and traveling and in a rental car in Belfast in Northern Ireland. We had 1 CD it was the best of the Spice Girls and after weeks of buses and planes and budget accommodation we were revelling in having music. The stereo was pumping and Wannabe was playing….LOUD we pulled up at some lights next to a construction site full of burly big construction men and my very camp very slight best friend hesitated for a fraction of a second before he said “Lock your doors lock your doors windows up quick quick quick”. Never had either of us moved so fast and 2 kilometres down the road we were still laughing hysterically.

an actual photo from the road trip in belfast lol

an actual photo from the road trip in belfast lol

As this post is linking up with Deb from Home Life Simplified for Listmania it seems that I really should be listing songs rather than writing a post dedicated to the spice girls and so I thought I would give you my ultimate road trip playlist and hope that it gives you a little insight into the Rach that I am.

  • My First My Last My Everything- Barry White
  • Weapon of Choice- Fat Boy Slim
  • Fat Bottomed Girls- Queen
  • What’s My Age Again- Blink 182
  • Creep-Radiohead
  • Both Sides Now- Joni Mitchell
  • Hope that I don’t fall in love with you- Tom Waits
  • Free Falling- Tom Petty
  • Rolling in the Deep- Adele
  • Escape The Pina Colada Song
  • Telephone- Lady Gaga
  • Don’t You Forget About Me- Simple Minds
  • Did it Again- Kylie Minogue
  • The Luckiest- Ben Folds
  • Walking on Sunshine- Katrina and The Waves
  • Stupid Girls- Pink
  • The Salmon Song- The Chemical Brothers
  • Strawberry Fields Forever- The Beatles
  • Whats Going On- 4 Non Blondes
  • Rollercoaster- Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Parlez Vous Francais- Art Vs Science
  • Bittersweet Symphony- The Verve

So there you have it my list mostly a mix of 90’s and new stuff with a few golden oldies thrown in- Sidebar have any of you noticed that my posts are almost always named for Songs….they are either titles or song lyrics so I guess you could say Music definitely plays a big part in my life.

belfast home of spice girls sing alongs

belfast home of spice girls sing alongs

6 thoughts on “Music Makes the People Come Together- Listmania #14

Leave a Reply

