It’s Not Perfect but it’s Mine

This is my body And I live in it…..
It’s changed a lot since it was new
It’s done stuff it wasn’t built to do
I often try to fill it up with wine
And the weirdest thing about it is
I spend so much time hating it
But it never says a bad word about me

I never imagined that I would write a blog for I Heart My Body…The truth is I don’t think I can ever remember hearting my body. But this whole day while I have been reading the amazing and beautiful and inspiring blogs I have had the above verse from the Tim Minchin song “Not Perfect” in my head.

I’ve been a big girl my whole adult life. Big, Plus sized, Chubby, Curvy and the most telling of all F words….FAT! I think though when picking words my favourite  was the one that a 4 year old girl girl that I taught swimming to used when terrified and clinging to me “Oh you’re SQUISHY”. Squishy what a delightful word there was no nastiness in her word no hidden meaning just truth.

I have thought so much today about all the horrendous things I think about my body everyday really I just don’t show my body love and the irony of it is I show everybody elses sooo much love (wow Rach that just makes it sound like you are a bit of a whore). I give people compliments everyday I am a frequent complimenter and I always mean it so why can I not show myself some love.

Today I decided to try to change my thinking, today I decided that:

I heart my munchkin hands because they helped guide scared little kidlets into water when I was teaching swimming.

I heart my arms because regardless of how big they are they give my nephews and nieces cuddles and love.

I heart my jellybean scar because it reminds me of being told by a doctor that the infection in my body was so bad I could have died – I heart my body for getting through that.

it really does look like a jelly bean

I heart my squishiness because it provides my husband with warmth and comfort.

I heart my breasts for being full and luscious (cannot believe I just said that) and for staying in the same place even without a bra on.

I heart my feet for the miles they’ve walked and I heart my legs for the leaps they’ve danced.

I heart my eyes for smiling when I laugh and I heart my ears for their supersonic hearing.

But mostly I think that:

I heart my heart because it is so overwhelmingly full of love and kindness and fills my body with blood so that I am able to heart everything else.

This is my body
And it’s fine
It’s where I spend the vast majority of my time
It’s not perfect
But it’s mine

<Linking up for I Heart my Body 2012>

8 thoughts on “It’s Not Perfect but it’s Mine

  1. Thank you for your post. Changing your thought process to think of the positives, and not the negatives, is something that I find difficult myself. But that is because society has made us form these opinions and ideals about what is ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ in relation to our bodies and makes us form these negative relationships.

    I am amazed that your boobs don’t move. Amazed.

    Anywho, you are gorgeous and thank you for linking up! xx

Leave a Reply

