The Boy Who Lived

As I let you all know the other day was a truly horrific day at work. This horrendous friday was followed by a Saturday when I usually do the casual version of a WAG and go and score for the hubbys cricket team.

After absolutely crashing friday night I woke up miserable and headachy on Saturday hubby took one look at me and suggested I stay home and rest but with my mind still in shock I didn’t know what to do. I thought about Housework but I truly couldn’t be bothered.

I tried the old faithful Breakfast at Tiffanys which had never before failed to brighten me up but I just wasn’t feeling it.I know I can hear the gasps of shock who in their right mind could ever not be in the mood for Audrey but I just wasnt.

I plodded through the house looking for inspiration or sanity or food that wouldn’t require any preparation and ended up in the spare bedroom which houses many things including my Harry Potter collection.

So that is how I came to be comforted on a Saturday afternoon curled up on the recliner escaping into a world where an 11 year old orphan can be a hero in what is truly a magical world.

Traditionally I like the later books in the series more action, more drama and the tugging of more heartstrings but that day I took it back to the beginning, back to basics and let my heart fill with excitement that comes with the words “He couldn’t know that at this very moment, people meeting in secret all over the country were holding up their glasses and saying in hushed voices: ‘To Harry Potter — the boy who lived!”

What do you do when you need a little “escape?”

<Linking up with IBOT for my second Tuesday oooooo exciting>

14 thoughts on “The Boy Who Lived

    • It was such a relief. The Harry potter books I started when my nephews (who are now in their 20’s) were 9 or 10 and I would read to them every night and found myself reading ahead. A perfect way for an adult to reexperience childhood.

  1. I love the Harry Potter books – cant wait til Master Z is old enough to enjoy them. I have actually asked for the box set for christmas this year. Here’s hoping the big man in red delivers 🙂

  2. I’ve never read them either. For me, it’s Grey’s Anatomy that relaxes me, or maybe a nice long walk. It early depends on the moment. 🙂

  3. I watch Buffy or Angel when I’m in a blah headspace. Failing that, Bridget Jones or Notting Hill.

    I hope the rest of the week improves for you and that the shock has subsided a little?

  4. I am with you there 1000%. Harry Potter is my go-to book of choice. I came to the HP party late, I only read the first book in 2008 on my honeymoon when I found it at the resort book exchange and needed something I could read in a night (shocking that I started so late considering my career as a booksellr!). Once I got home from Fiji I then nicked my MIL’s copies and read the rest of them in about 2 weeks. I cried my eyes out reading the final book, especially the chapter with Snape’s memories and when he defeats V and I actually grieved for a week or so afterwards the fact that I would never get to experience them ‘for the first time’ again, if you know what I mean. I’ve since read them all multiple, multiple times, and they never get old and never fail to make me feel happy. I can’t wait to read them to Mia when she gets older.

    • omg yes Chris has forbidden us from ever having a son named Albus or Severus. There were countless tears for the final book I started in the first chapter and pretty much continued for the entire novel. But the chapter that always brings on the waterworks for me is in Order of The Phoenix when Dumbledore tells Harry the whole truth. I just got tears in my eyes typing this.

Leave a Reply

